Announcing World Tea Expo Lifetime Achievement Award Nominees

2017 World Tea Expo John Harney Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Rona Tison

Each year, World Tea Expo awards a tea industry leader with the John Harney Lifetime Achievement Award for his or her unique contributions to advancing the business of tea. World Tea Expo’s Advisory Board, which consists of 11 tea industry professionals, has chosen this year’s 19 nominees.

The advisory board’s selection criteria, among many other points, considered each nominee’s impact on the tea industry on both local and global scales. This year’s nominees comprise a diverse group of tea business experts who share a passion for tea. World Tea Expo congratulates all the nominees and supports their valuable contributions.

Brian Keating, tea industry liaison and World Tea Expo Advisory Board coordinator said, “The 2018 nominees for the annual World Tea Expo Lifetime Achievement Award represent an exceptional diversity of tea industry pioneers and entrepreneurs from all over the world. The tea industry applauds all of their tireless efforts towards the advancement and promotion of tea. We look forward to the award ceremony in June where the 2018 winner shall be announced.”

The 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award winner will be announced at the World Tea Awards & Opening Night Cocktail Reception, Tuesday, June 12, 2018, in the Las Vegas Convention Center’s South Hall.

The award is named after Harney & Sons’ founder, John Harney.

Lifetime Achievement Award Nominees

Rahah Banerjee, founder of Makaibari Tea Estate

Dan Bolton, editor/publisher, Tea Journey Magazine

Charlie Cain, principal and executive consultant, Building Oz

Babette Donaldson, founder, International Tea Sippers Society

Kevin Gascoyne, owner, Camellia Sinensis

Sanjay Guha, international tea consultant

Richard Guzauskas, consultant/specialty tea industry

Manik Jayakumar, founder and CEO, Qtrade Teas & Herbs

Nigel Melican, managing director, Teacraft Ltd.

Jane Pettigrew, author and speaker

Bruce Richardson, author/publisher, Benjamin Press

Louise Roberge, president, Tea and Herbal Association of Canada

Ron Rubin, minister of tea and CEO, The Republic of Tea

David Segal, co-founder and brand ambassador (retired), David’s Tea

Thomas Shu, owner, JT & Tea Inc.

Tim Smith, chief leaf, The Tea Smith

Abigail St. Clair, owner, TeBella Tea Company

Maria Uspenski, founder, The Tea Spot

Bill Waddington, founder and president, TeaSource


World Tea Expo logo

Join the Celebration 
What: World Tea Awards & Opening Night Cocktail Reception
When: 6-8 p.m. Tuesday, June 12, at World Tea Expo
Where: Special Events Stage on the Exhibit Hall Floor
Made possible by: Harney and Sons,  Bunn and Owl’s Brew